Asian Secrets Lulur Indonesian Whitening Body Scrub with Seaweed Extract and Vitamin E Review

 

3

Asian Secrets Lulur (meaning “to coat the skin”) Whitening Body Scrub originated from the palaces of Java, Indonesia with the ritual inspiration from the beauty of a Javanese bride-to-be before her wedding day. It is manufactured in Indonesia and imported by UniLab here in the Philippines. Asian Secrets offers not only body scrub, facial scrub, soap and lotions, they also have a relaxing spa at SM North EDSA that you may want to try and visit.

Wondering where they got the seaweed extract? You got that right, the seaweed they incorporated with the product came from the ones that you see floating in the beach and tangles your feet under the water while you are swimming except that these algae are surely being harvested from a seaweed farm. Seaweeds are edible therefore they are also being served in many Chinese, Japanese and Korean restaurants besides being widely used as a beauty product ingredient. Speaking of seaweed dishes, I am a fan of cooking seaweed soup at home that has beaten eggs and scallops poured in a bowl. This might sound a bit crazy but I do eat seaweed soup the whole day when I’m craving. There is no stopping me on draining the whole pot down to my tummy!

These seaweeds that some people may find disgusting have hydration and anti-inflammatory benefits that will prevent our skin from drying up while decreasing the redness caused by pimples and acnes. Now that it is in a form of body scrub that has gentle exfoliating beads it also gives us that fresh cleansing feeling.

2

 

I won’t get to judge the whitening effectiveness of this scrub because I only used one container, but it does a great job on making my skin feel very clean, soft, moisturized and it removes the stubborn dirt on my back and ankles of my feet. The container is filled with product up to the lid which was nice because they maximized the container and I must say that the amount of product was considerably reasonable for the price. The product is in a form of white cream which makes application easy to spread. The scent smells good and lingers on your skin for few hours like a perfume.

The scrub claims to be demagogically tested and hypo allergenic beside the whitening effect which means it is good for sensitive skin. In my experience, it didn’t irritate my skin when I first tried it on the upper part of my left hand and when I decided to continue lathering it on my whole body. I even tried applying it on my face. Overall I love Asian Secret body scrub with seaweed extract and vitamin E body scrub but if you’ve been reading my beauty blog you will notice that I am really not a fan of products with Paraben as one of the product ingredients.

I got my Asian Secret Body Scrub from their booth at Blogapalooza 2015 for free and decided to make a review about it, besides it’s the first time for me to use it too… But if you are planning to purchase one after reading my review, you may find it at Mercury drugstore, Watsons and SM nationwide in a 250g container for Php 135.00.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Polyethylene, Stearic Acid, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Seaweed Extracts, Lanolin Anhydrous, Mineral Oil, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Propylene Glycol, Potassium Hydroxide, Squalene, Olea europaea (Olive) Oil, Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Lactate, Carbomer, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

Images are all taken and edited by yours truly.

Leave a Reply

