How to Gain More Followers, Likes and Engagement on Twitter

Twitter has an estimate of 1.5 billion registered users and we’re one of them who are aiming to get more interactions and higher influence for our blog or brand, but how do we really get followers? What are the things we can do to increase our engagement?

I am not a social media expert and I do not have a huge number of followers on Twitter, but I’d like to share the things that I did to somehow slowly increase the followers and engagement on my Twitter account. These are things that actually worked for me and I believe that if you try doing this you will slowly gain more engagements and grow your followers.

Gain Twitter 6

Gain Twitter 3

Gain Twitter 2

Hashtags

It may seem like it’s non-sense to spend your characters on hashtags instead of words, but the thing is, brands and other blogger search on Twitter using hashtags that are also relevant to them because they want to start engaging and be noticed by people who are of the same interest. I used hashtags more often and received several followers a week that proves how powerful hashtags can be.

I usually use the common hashtags that bloggers use (i.e #blogger #bloggerPH #bblogger #bbloggerPH) and sometimes I include general categories (i.e #lifestyle #wordpress #makeup #business #health)

Gain TwitterGain Twitter 4

Call-To-Action

Asking people to retweet, share or like your tweets can increase your followers, because if they react you get engagements. At first I wasn’t sure if someone will follow my request, but I was surprised when several people did it. You may also want to try tweeting engaging questions and ask for direct message reply or mention. Last but not the least, don’t be shy to use emoticons!

  • Do you have any advice on…?
  • What do you think to improve this…?
  • Will doing this… help that…?
  • What do you think about this…?
  • What do you suggest doing on this…?
  • How will you define this…?

 

Tweeting Hours

There is no perfect time to tweet applicable to all of us because it all depends on our audience. As for me, I don’t have a tweeting schedule and I tweet whenever I want. But I try to tweet at break time, after office and resting hours where people have time to relax and mandatory check their social media accounts.

Mondays are the busiest day of the week and less people have time to scroll over their social media accounts. This can be said similar to Fridays as people are getting ready to party. You then see tweets like “ Check out Tweriod if you want to know when your followers are online. This gives you a higher chance that they will be able to read your tweets and engage with you.

 

Spam Tweets

You don’t need to tweet every move you make in every second of every day. You don’t want your followers to think that you’re simply spamming their Newsfeed just to be noticed. I had this experience with one of the bloggers that I was following before. She had many irrelevant tweets scheduled every minute until a time where my Newsfeed was filled only with her non-sense tweets. Ending, I unfollowed her.

You don’t need to beg for attention because they will follow you if they find you interesting. I don’t know if others feel the same way, but when I am following someone who tweets around 4 to 5 times a day and suddenly didn’t see any tweet from that person, I go check the account to see if I missed out something. If this happens to you, it also happens to your loyal followers.

 Gain Twitter 5

Promote Your Twitter Account

One of the helpful things that can increase your followers is promoting your twitter account to all of your social media channels. I’m not into availing Twitter’s paid promotions, but I’m not against it, I just opted to endorse my Twitter on groups and on my other social media accounts.

Make sure that your visitors can easily navigate from one of your accounts to your Twitter. You should also check if your Twitter handle is visible throughout your channels.

 

1513194_763239673695745_6444543293876536114_n1513194_763239673695745_6444543293876536114_n 1

Join Twitter Follow Exchange Threads

There are many groups on Facebook where you can join to exchange likes, pins, retweet, comments and follows in different categories.

One of these groups is Bloggers Community, where the moderators are very strict in implementing the rules and bloggers who violates receive warnings and automatically gets kicked out if violations don’t stop. This group is open to local and international bloggers who doesn’t have any problem in cooperating with fellow bloggers. Non-bloggers are strictly not allowed to join.

Please be sure that when you join blogger groups you oblige to the rules set by the creators and cooperate with the admin to create a harmonious community where everyone will benefit. Remember that as a member, your name and blog is on the line. You don’t want to be on the black list just because violating simple rules.

10 Ways on Where to Get Blogging Ideas and Inspiration

Got any strategy to share on how to gain more followers on Twitter? Please do comment it down below and share it with us. We’d be really glad to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “How to Gain More Followers, Likes and Engagement on Twitter

    • You’re totally right!!! ^__^ Sometimes you may think of something crazy to tweet and thinks twice if you’re going to tweet it or not, but often times the crazy tweets gain more engagements than serious ones. Heheheh!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

