A Book Review: The Son of Nepal by J.J Sylvester

3de0f5_918a74838c12418786adbb8b46a4805f

The Sons of Thunder | soburinmuhandae@gmail.com | Read

First of all, I love how this book talks a lot about the supernatural being and heaven. I don’t really feel like this is a fantasy book, but more of a biblical with a twist of romance, because I somehow saw Moses through Johannan when he became a Judge, and I saw Adam and Eve on Johannan and Ayushi’s destiny.

You know what, there are actually a lot of things that you will see in this first book, yeah, there is a second book which I am hoping to read as well. Then book three is in the making. I truly believe that the Muhandae in this story is God while Soburin is Jesus Christs, and Johannan is one of his disciples. This is what I think, but do let me know what you think when you read the book. But the only person who can truly answer the question of the inspiration behind the characters is the writer J.J Sylvester.

3de0f5_33746c454181453882e1ca2e6110e685

So now let’s move on to my favorite character Johannan and his journey to find a cure for his beloved Ayushi’s blindness which proves that love can move mountains. The mountains didn’t literally move, but Johannan did move from mountain to mountain just to find the Great Spirit that will cure Ayushi’s blindness.

I think now I understand why many people made it a career to climb mountains, it’s because of the physical, mental and emotional achievement that one feels after reaching every summit. Johannan proved that no matter how difficult it is, as long as you have a strong and clear vision of what you want to achieve in life, you will achieve it, but it seriously needs time, a touch of sacrifice and huge amount of effort.

He also proved that no matter how painful it is for you or for your lover, you will always do what you think is best for them, because that’s what love is. And Ayushi proved that if you sincerely love someone, you will always believe and support their decisions, even if you have to endure the pain, because deep in your heart you trust and believe that they will make it.

Love isn’t a business where it’s mandatory to gain the trust of everyone around you before you profit from it. Love is about getting and not losing the trust that was effortlessly given to you by the most important person in your life. Because you don’t want to go feeling like your strength has been sucked out of your life and you can’t find any way to fund it back.

I can relate to Johannan and Ayushi’s longing for each other, and I believe most people will, especially those in a long distance relationship. Missing someone is very stressful so I truly understand the couple in this story. I get lonely when I don’t get to see my guy for days, what more if you haven’t seen them for years right?

So where do we really get the strength when we couldn’t continue? Yes, from the people that we love, but most of all, from old memories and future visions with them. When you don’t see the person that you love the most, you tap into those deep sleeping memories of the time you’re with them to ease the pain you’re feeling. And frankly, it helps.

I somehow already made all my point clear about the story, but before I start sharing my favorite lines in the story because of how much it uplifts my negative feelings, I would like to give credits on how much wisdom Johannan’s mother has in this story. You’re going to want to love how your parents nag you.

My favorite lines from the book:

“Wicked people have increased in the land, and Teki will have the case he needs to chasten the lands of Asia. The good will pay for the deeds of the unjust—unless something is done.

I love this line from the book because I feel like its ageless… It applies to all aspects of life and very timely for me to have read, especially now that the Philippines will be electing a new President and government officials. Will those newly elected officials do something to prevent people from experiencing more sufferings or will they take up the same role of Teki in this story. I don’t want to put politics in this book review, but it’s where I really think this line applies.

Another one of Mama’s sayings came to mind: “The long way is tiresome and reliable, but the shortcut is filled with mishaps.”

Yeah, just like you I also feel tired about my life sometimes, but if you think of it, it is true that the long way is reliable compared to the shortcuts because you have the time to prepare and to analyze. You will experience normal endurance in the long way, but massive endurance is needed when you insist on taking the shortcut.

He dipped his chin; he had taken this for granted—he hadn’t been aware of his luck. It reminded him of something Mama used to always say: “You cannot see when you’re in the presence of love, but when it is taken from you, at that moment, your eyes begin to open.”

Wave your hands if you can relate to this! I’m waving mine! Reminds me of my grandfather who dearly loved us, but passed away… Now I’m missing life with him from time to time…

It was like one of Mama’s weird sayings: “Better to be beaten by a mother who loves you, than to be beaten by those who hate you.” It made sense now, a lot of sense.

Being beaten is not really a good thing even if it’s from a parent, but parents have their own different way of showing love to children. So it’s more acceptable to be beaten by parents who you know loves you than to seriously be beaten by those people who hates you, because they enjoy seeing you in pain.

I am not an expert on doing book reviews because I just write whatever impact the book gave me, but I seriously love reading with all my heart, so I hope somehow, you guys loved this book review.

I would recommend this to religious people, for those children who feels like their parents doesn’t love them and for those people who’s so in love right now but is undergoing a rocky relationship. If you feel like your relationship is breaking apart, read this because somehow you’ll feel that your pain is no match for what the couple in the story had experienced. This isn’t a tragic love story so please don’t get me wrong.

I seriously got attached to the story because of how much the characters put faith in the supernatural being living in heaven. I felt like my feeling of a sense of destiny was strengthened and I was more empowered to truly believe in God. I’m sure, somehow, you will feel the same way after reading this.

Until my next book review guys!

 

3 thoughts on “A Book Review: The Son of Nepal by J.J Sylvester

Leave a Reply

